Complete beginner going down the rabbit hole! Help please

Hi all,

Looking to get a blaster, but the more I look the more confused I am becoming. There really are an amazing number of options and stores out there.
I’ve spent the last week and a half looking at and reading as much as I can. But i’m starting to go cross eyed!!
Time to ask for a little help I think

I’m after a well balanced blaster and thinking the HK416 seems nice, however I would like metal.
I know there is a preorder for a metal HK416 which is quite reasonable I think. But I would like something sooner.

I am also considering something like the Wells M401, which whilst probably an older blaster now, represents pretty good value at $140 delivered on ebay. And lots of mods available for it.

I know I will want to upgrade whatever I get anyway, so was also thinking about something like the Azrael Titan. Not really cheap, but seems a lot better than many others and arguably offers better value than the all metal HK416.

Another option is to build something from scratch. Whilst I have the ability to build a blaster, my main issue would be choosing parts that are compatible. And finding them. Seems so many stores are out of stock of many things.

OK, over to the wiser more experienced to comment.

Thank you

2 Likes

Hi and welcome.

There is no right and wrong first blaster… until you own one, you can’t know what you do or don’t like… so, in my opinion, you simply need a blaster to start with.

I probably sound like a broken record, but really, the M401, HK416, Gen9 or J10 are all good fun to start with and put a smile on your dial… then, you can begin to know by what you have… what you would rather have (or should have bought)

So, see which of these ones you can get cheap off ebay, get a seal and probably a 1.2mm - 1.3mm spring for when you get confident to change these… take a look at LowGuido’s videos on the intertubes to see how they are fitted… and start having some fun.