Gen 8 beginner upgrades

Hi all, just wondering what are the best beginner upgrades for a jm m4a1 j8. I’ve given mine a paint job and changed the trigger (after I snapped it). I’m going to change the o-ring but is there any other worth while upgrades. Thanks

1 Like

Morning Archie I’m no expert but been into the game for around a year and like yourself started with m4 great starting project so up to you and your finances but hopup will give you more range metal barrel helps also just ytube and subscibe to some of the toy experts like tach edge or the chop shop them guys are champs

1 Like

I’m glad you asked. This is my Gen 8 M4 with mods. Some are custom DIY and some are bought. There are more to come:

DIY Parts first (these will be the subject of another thread in the near future)
19mm metal outer barrel and mods of original nylon handguard to suit
Suppressor
Mods to original nylon handguard to suit alloy barrel adaptor
Mag prime switch (courtesy of Low Guido’s You Tube instructional vid)
M249 handgrip with mods to make it stable
Mods to picatinny rails to make them stable
Repaint bits in Desert Tan/Sand to get the KAC M4 look
Camo tape for extra looks

Bought bits
External
Camera mount - had to be DIY’d as the mount was for a go pro and I had a different system
Alloy barrel adapter
45 deg 3 slot metal picatinny rail
2 slot metal picatinny rail
Rail covers
Aimpoint Optics - had to mod top rail as it flexes too much being plastic

Internals
11.1V battery
35cm alloy 7.5mm inner barrel
DJS 9.5mm hop up
1.18mm unequal spring
Green Oring
Replaced all receiver screws with 2.5mm allen key head screws

And I will be going way further with build. I was tossing up whether to just get a Gen9 as the V2 gearbox has lots of upgrade options and Gen8 parts are getting harder to get, example being a metal buffer tube which is next on the list but hard to find now.

On the purchase list (or currently on the way is):

13:1 or 16:1 SHS CNC gears (haven’t decided gear ratio yet)