J10 ACR Gearbox/Battery/Motor Problem!

Hey guys, as I’m new to gelsoft I’ve been trying to get myself familiar with the gearbox’s. So as a rookie taking apart my gearbox and installing a bigger spring. When i connected my motor and the second I put my 11.1v lipo battery in the motor, battery and wiring heated up instantly! Could this be due to backwards wiring of the motor? Or damage to one of the wires. Btw, no part of the blaster moved either.

It sure sounds like the wires back to front… so the motor is trying to go backwards and the anti reverse thingy is preventing this…

Try turning the motor 180 degrees…

BTW… when testing after a tear down, use a 2S (7.4v) battery for the first test… far less flames with 2S… once you have confirmed everything is correct… then go for the 3S :+1:

Im getting a new gearbox because the wiring had exposed and also one of the pin in the connecters snapped as i rushed to take out the 11.1v lipo.

So do you think its just because of wiring the motor wrong?

Without looking at the burned wiring and the motor, I can’t say… but a 3S battery has plenty of juice in it… if you connect it to a motor that cant turn… the wires will light up like a toaster wire… real quick.

If you had reversed the polarity of the motor, it COULD explain the wires burning.

You could make this the time to put in bigger wires and change terminals (on the battery and the blaster)… and while you are at it, consider putting a 30amp fuse in the red wire on the blaster… so next time, the fuse blows instead of melting the wires…

Cheers man! Appreciate the feedback! Will keep this in mine for trying it next :joy:

1 Like

Don’t chuck out the old gearbox… you can use it for spares…

You can also just buy new wire kit… although, for nearly $20… you could buy another box with wires for $35

The wire set is #27 in the drop down box