M249 saw purchase help

Hey guys,
I am new to gel blasters and am loving this forum for info.
I have recently purchased a kriss vector v2 which I love. I have changed spring to a 1.2mm and added a hop up, which has helped a lot but i am too scared to open it up any further. I think I’ll keep it as my "main.
The only I dislike is the small magazine.

i now have the itch to get another one with bigger mag that i can have a go at modifying …i cMe across the m249 saw v3 which looks good. From what i can tell its a full nylon build so it should be sturdy like the vector, but its hard to find info on. I have heard the v3 comes woth metal barrel but can’t seem to confirm this?

Anyway, i have a couple of questions that i am hoping the experts can answer.

1. Would you buy a m249 v3?
  2. Are they easy-ish for a beginner to mod? (Thinking spring, o ring, 11.1v and maybe alloy barrel)
  3. Any ideas what battery or barrel i should get?
  4. Any ideas which hop up fits it?
  5. They are cheap, but do they work ok or similar to vector out of the box?
  6. Any idea what the difference between the v1, v2 and v3 are? I heard v3 has metal carry handle but am unable to confirm.

I have emailed a few australian retailers without success.
I have watched all the videos/reviews online including low guido (seems to be an older style of his reviews) and novice driver.
But just looking to get some personal experiences of people who own one.

I would really appreciate any information anyone can provide

Thanks guys

3 Likes