M249 V3 upgrades list

So recently I’ve just received the M249 V3 and I’m planning to do some upgrade to it, a more experienced friend said I should go with this list,

• Nylon gen 8 Gearbox
  • Metal piston
  • Nylon piston head
  • Metal gearset
  • Shimming gear
  • Highspeed 460 dynamo w/37k rpm
  • 35 cm fighting bro barrel
  • 1.3 Spring
  • 11v Battery

Any thoughts on this? Note I’m not that experienced in upgrading so it would be nice to have some opinion.

Well, that’s most of a gearbox right there, add a tappet plate, small springs and anti-reverse…

Not trying to cost you more money, but perhaps consider building a second gearbox to the spec your friend has given you out of parts? That way you can still use the blaster while you’re working on the second gearbox? No better way to learn!

1 Like

Welcome to the group! :+1:

My two cents worth , and it’s subjective, but you might want to consider a high torque motor and a 16:1 ratio gear set instead of a high speed motor. Keeps the motor temp down on repeated burst and sustained rapid fire, you’re grip won’t get so hot when you’re emptying out that HUGE mag :joy: go check out Galapogas J on Youtube, he has a great vid on high speed vs high torque motors. :+1:

Very good advice from Torc about the second gearbox… agree 100%. It’s always good to have a working unit to use while you tinker and learn about upgrades on the second one. Nylon gearboxes come in at around $45 online, so pretty cheap. Then if things go south with your upgrades you can still get out there and spray. :blush:

Other than the tappet upgrades Torc’s suggested, you pretty much have it covered. If you up your ROF substantially, you may want to consider a delay chip on the sector gear too… helps with feeding issues, and cheap as chips (sorry, bad pun) on ebay or any blaster outlet.

Most of all, have fun with it. :+1:

2 Likes

Thanks for the tips, also will regular gels work or do I have to opt for Milkies since the barrel got upgraded?