Shimming for dummys guide

G’day everyone,

I’m relatively new to the hobby and have been bitten by the mod bug, Just wondering if anyone has a decent beginners Shimming guide? I know there are videos like Low Guido etc but if anyone has like a document or guide to shimming that would be great.

I have written a guide, it’s long but pretty comprehensive :+1:

Gearbox Setup
Notes:

1. Pinion refers to the motor gear
  2. Bevel gear refers to the first gear that engages with the motor pinion
  3. Intermediate or spur gear refers the middle gear
  4. Sector gear is the gear that engages the piston rack.
  5. DSG = Doulble sector gear, the gear has two sectors instead of one.
    This doubles the rof but requires short stroking.

Firstly start by completely stripping the box and clean everthing including the bearings spotlessly.

1. Add one drop of light oil to each bearing and put one at a time on the sector gear in your hand and then hold the bearing and spin the gear , if the bearing feels dead smooth Your good but if it feels rough replace the bearing.
    Now install the bearings in the cases.

2. Fit the tappet and cylinder piston assemby with no springs and close the box up and fit all the screws.
    Use your finger and ensure the piston and tappet move perfectly smooth over the entire range of motion without any sticking.
    Once happy remove them and put aside for now.

3. Install only the bevel gear and close up the gearbox without screws , note about how much shimming is required and add shims, at this point it doesn’t matter which side they go, try to shim it with a few different thickness shims so you have at least one or two very thin ones. When you feel your getting close install all the screws and tighten them, now check the end float on the gear by using something to push the shaft up from the bottom, keep adding shims until there is as little end float as possible but the gear still spins freely with the gearbox closed up and tightened.