Wells m401 spring retainer issue

So after discovering this site after an unfortunate accident with my m401 turns out the spring retainer on mine had flew out into the stock and striped the wires for the battery causing them to bridge and go up into smoke so yeah after finding this forum I’m not sure what to do about wires and if there’s a much safer place to route them any tips would be helpful or if there’s a spring retainer fix so it wouldn’t shoot out its running all stock btw as I’m fairly new to this

first day, first squirt…same issue.

its a very common gotcha with the wells but easily enough dealt with.

i usually apply liberal heatshrink over the affected areas and reinstall.

fixing the issue:

• different spring retainer with a bearing
  • longer spring
  • both…but as an interim you can stretch the existing one but its not advised unless you run the leads differently.
1 Like

I had the same problem shot 1 mag and bang. I took mine back to were I bought it and he replaced the spring which fixed the problem of the retainer coming loose and popping out . It didn’t strip my wires though. If it’s still in the 30 days I’d take it back for them to sort out .
Mine has a few upgrades since and its had no other problems .

Well this all happened on the day I got it so I’ve shipped it back under warranty to get a replacement, I’ve looked into spring retainers having a hard time finding places in-stock with the bearing variation, and I’m not to sure on what spring to put into the blaster and what other upgrades I should do as I’m not very knowledgeable on anything gel ball related and there seems to be so many options out there, that it can be very overwhelming to figure out what will work and what won’t so any help in that department would be greatly appreciated.